SEN Areas of Need

The 2014 SEND Code of Practice outlines four areas of special educational need that include a range of difficulties and conditions:

1) Communication and interaction

2) Cognition and learning

3) Social, emotional and mental health

4) Sensory and/or physical needs

Each specified SEND area above is a link to pages that give examples of these area of need, complete with descriptions and links to suggested websites for gaining more information.

The code states that:

Many children and young people have difficulties that fit clearly into one of these areas; some have needs that span two or more areas; for others the precise nature of their need may not be clear at the outset.”